Trinity Burning, Part V.1

Trinity Burning: Part V

Some Time Ago

It was years ago and David McIntosh rested in his room, on his perfectly made bed, a textbook in his hands. His eyes studied the words, trying to make sense of the medical terminology. A small smirk formed from his lips as he daydreamt of being a doctor.

He didn’t want to be just a regular doctor. He didn’t want to go on to be one of those doctors that children come to see before getting a lollipop or balloon after each visit. McIntosh, as his friends called him, wanted to be a brain surgeon.

His grandfather passed away from dementia. McIntosh wasn’t sure what it was at first, but after extensive reading, he knew the power it had on the mind. Researching the mind couldn’t be called a fascination, as that would be an understatement. He knew some may have called it an obsession, but that was fine by him.

His eyes continued to scan the words, his brain processing the knowledge he sees, retaining it. His friends called him a nerd, and those friends had dwindled down over the years, ever since he decided to pick up a book, to learn. His brain had truly become a sponge, soaking the knowledge in, expanding from his constant learning.

But for all he learned, McIntosh knew there would always be people who disapproved. He knew there would be plenty of people in his life who simply did not care for knowledge. People like his friends.

Like his father.

His father wanted him to grow up to be just like him. He expected McIntosh to become a plumber or an electrician. To do a real man’s work. The son knew his father could have cared less for him, therefore he could’ve cared less about what his father wanted.

******

David McIntosh graduated at the top of his class. He made his way into the top program in the United States. He excelled, despite not caring all that much for a social life. The friends he made did not compare to his thirst for knowledge.

It didn’t take him long however, to realize just how alone and bored he was. McIntosh decided to head out into the big city near the university. What he found was a whole other world. A world he had never truly seen or allowed himself to see. He felt nothing short of alien each and every time he entered the bars.

That soon became his life, however. He knew his father would be proud. He had always wanted his son to become one of the guys. He was always pushy, until McIntosh’s father received a push that sent him tumbling down the stairs to the basement, cracking his neck along the way. The son remembered breathing a sigh of relief, knowing he would never need to try and meet the father’s expectations again.

He wanted to reach his own. He would down a few drinks before striking up a conversation with a pretty girl. She seemed to enjoy his vocabulary, but then again, he told himself, it could have been the alcohol. She will do just fine, McIntosh thought, offering to buy her another drink, which she accepted.

Using precise speed, McIntosh slipped the crushed pills into her drink. He watched intensely as she gulped the liquid in one shot. He knew how the brain works. It won’t take long for things to spin like a top, he told himself.

He took her back to his room. They’d talk until she fell asleep. What he planned to do next, she would not remember, but McIntosh would enjoy for as long as he could.

The next morning, this girl woke up. Her name was Judith, but she went by Judy. She said her head is hurting. She asked him if anything happened last night. He lied, telling her no. She looked down and seemed to take satisfaction in the fact her her clothes were still on. Judy called him a real gentleman. All he could do was smile while thinking of how gentle and precise he was when placing the clothes back on after cleaning the mess, getting rid of any residual evidence.

******

He stood at the test subject after peeling the skin back, exposing the brain. He studied it for a few moments, trying to remember what he must do. His hands moved, the scalpel clutched between his fingers, but the precision wasn’t there. The hands shook like a leaf on a tree when hit by a slight breeze.

He failed his test. He blamed Judy. He punished her just as his father did his mother when he was a child. It was the only thing he had ever kept from his father. That scolding temperament. He knew Judy should leave, just as he knew that she wouldn’t. She apologized to him for keeping him up the night before his big test. She accepted full blame, telling McIntosh that she loves him.

He lied once again, telling her he felt the same.

******

David McIntosh sat at the bar. It was the cheapest place for him to drink his sorrows away. He felt sorrow for feeling sorry. He recalled never being depressed when his father died. Sure, it was by his hand, but still. He felt no real sadness as the years went on.

No real guilt. Not even for his past sins with his girlfriend, Judy. What made him sad however, was the fact that he is without a true job. He was without a true career path. His hopes and dreams of becoming a brain surgeon had all but fucking died. Judy was pregnant with their child, to top it off.

McIntosh shook his head and drank to that. He reminded himself of how he could’ve cared less about Judy, but he wanted his child to have a future. He wanted to be able to provide, but right then he couldn’t. Seeing the man in the flashy suit next to him made McIntosh sick to his stomach.

Then the suit locked eyes with him and spoke. “You look like a man down on his luck.”

He chuckled, and took a swig of his drink before giving the suit his full attention.“What gave that away?”

“I’ve watched you guzzle Jim Beam down for the last hour. The way it looks to me right now is that there is no stopping you, David McIntosh.”

“Do I know you?”

The suit shook his head.

“Then how do you know my name?” McIntosh asked, feeling his frustration slowly turn to something else. Something he had not really felt before.

Fear.

“I know all about you.” The suit said in a soft but rather haunting voice. McIntosh could see the skin of the man’s face. It was worn, and his eyes told the story of someone who had seen some shit and survived.

“What…what do you know?” the would-be doctor asked, cursing himself for allowing his voice to break.

“I know you wanted to be a brain surgeon. I know you’ve missed out on a lot of life in order to do so. I also know you graduated at the top of your class before flunking your big test. You couldn’t quite keep it together, could you, David?”

“What is this? What do you want?”

“I want to offer you a job, so calm the hell down.”

His voice cracked again as McIntosh asked, “A job…a job?” He shook his head, trying to regain a sense of calm. The calm he had during his studies. The calm he had when he had his way with Judy, before she fell in love. Taking a deep breath, the calm slowly arrived, and he looked the suit in the eyes. “What sort of job?”

A smirk appeared. “Government job.”

The calm remained, slowly beginning to blend in with a rising excitement. “Doing what?”

“We can talk business soon. Right now, we can drink. Just know that whatever I tell you will change your life. It will be an offer you can’t refuse. And if you try to,” the suit says, turning away and staring at his reflection in the mirror behind the shelves housing the top-brand alcohol, “just know I’ve killed people. Many people. It’s my job. I have no qualms doing it again. I’d hate for your child to grow up without a father.”

Working with the government will help, McIntosh told himself as he ignores the chill racing up and down his spine. I can provide a future for myself, as well as my child, his mind whispered.

They both ordered drinks and finished them just as quickly. Wiping any residue from his mustache, McIntosh said, “When you’re ready to talk, I’m all ears.”

__________________________________________

December 31st, 2019

New York City, New York

“Yes, yes.” Bram Theron stated to his wife as he was trying to get off the phone. “If you would let me get off the phone, babe…I could get out of here. We can have a nice dinner and go bring in the New Year in Times Square.”

“Are you getting loud with me, mister?” His wife asked, her voice filled with venom. It had been stressful over the holidays, especially with his work schedule. Things had really picked up on the Amelia Jenkins missing persons case, and it felt like he was never home. And when he was home, he still felt like his presence was elsewhere.

“Not at all babe.” He said, as he tried to gather his things without being too loud. He didn’t want his wife to think he wasn’t ready to leave at all. The truth was that he wasn’t. He had been buried in his work to the point where he had lost track of time, forgetting all the plans they had discussed leading up to New Year’s Eve night. He also knew that if his wife figured that out, that he would be on the couch indefinitely. He had already been sleeping there, or in his work-out room for when he was home. Most nights he slept in the office, which already had him in the doghouse.

“Good, because you’ve distanced yourself far enough away from me to the point where it makes me physically sick, Bram. I want you home. I want to spend time with you. End of story.”

He sighed, quietly rising from his seat. “Babe, sweetheart, I know this, and I’ve made promises. I know that too. Tonight, it is all about you.” He said, trying to put as much happiness as he could into his words. It seemed to work to the point he was a believer in himself, until he looked down and the light to his office phone blinking rapidly. “Hang on, babe.”

“Why?”

He sighed. “Someone is calling me.”

“So what? You’re leaving.”

“I gotta take it. It could be important.”

“More important than me?”

“Not at all. Just let me call you back.”

“You better.”

He ended the call, reaching down and grabbing his office phone simultaneously. “Bram here.”

“Hey Bram. Its Martin from downstairs.”

He sighed. “Yes. What is it, Martin? I’m getting ready to head out.”

“You may want to hang on.”

“You can tell that to my wife. She’s not…”

Martin cut him off before he could finish his statement. What he heard shook him to his core. The phone nearly fell from his hand, as he heard the name ‘Amelia Jenkins’. She was downstairs, wanting to talk to the person looking for her. Bram hung up on Martin before he could continue. He rushed out of the office, taking the stairs, as it always took too long waiting on the elevator. As he reached the bottom of the steps, his cell rang. It was his wife. “Hello?”

“Why do you sound out of breath?”

“Babe, you’re not going to believe this…” He began, but he wasn’t even allowed to finish, as his wife tore into him with no sign of restraint. The call ended before he knew it, and he had no chance to process as he found himself face to face with… “Amelia?” She nodded. “I’m Detective Theron.”

She looked nowhere near as meek and mild as she did in the photos, he had received of her, but there was no denying who she was. She reached out and they shook hands as she spoke. “I’ve heard you were looking for me.”

“That would be the understatement of the decade, Ms. Jenkins. Would you like to go somewhere and talk?”

“That would be nice.” She said, with a nod. He walked with her upstairs, taking her into an interrogation room, offering her some water which she gladly accepted. Once she was settled in the room, he stood on the outside with his captain.

“What is it, Theron?”

He sighed. “I don’t know. Something just doesn’t feel right, Cap. She doesn’t seem to be rattled in any way, shape, or form.”

“So, you think something is off?”

They locked eyes as Bram nodded. “As a matter of fact, I do.”

“Do you have anything else to base that off other than her appearance? You know I’m not a fan of a hunch.”

He nodded. “Yeah, I know you don’t. But we both know that following my hunches have proved fruitful for the Department in the past.”

“I’d rather not go that route here, Detective. Go in there and get something concrete. See if it leads to anything more than just fruitful.”

Bram smirked as the Captain walked away. He looked at her and couldn’t go over the feeling that he no longer knew here. Once the case had been assigned to him, he spent almost every single waking hour learning about Amelia Jenkins, trying to figure out who she was inside and out. Over the course of the investigation, he couldn’t help but feel as if he truly knew her. But looking at her then, she felt like nothing less than a complete and total stranger.

“Sorry to keep you waiting, Ms. Jenkins.” He said, as he entered the room and took a seat across from her.

“Please.” She replied. “Call me Amelia.” Her voice was warm. Not an ounce of fear or uneasiness in the depths of her tone.

“Alright, Amelia. I’d like to start this off with the most obvious question. Are you alright?”

“Never been better.” She said, taking a sip of her water.

“You’ve been missing for quite some time. There’s been no trace of you. Which leads me to my next question. Where have you been?”

She leaned forward a little bit, her arms resting on the table between them as they locked eyes. “I’ve been at the Trinity Institute.”

“And why were you there?”

“I needed to clear my head.”

“So, you went voluntarily?”

“You could say that.”

He shook his head. “No, it’s not about how I’d say something. Its about what really happened. I need to know the facts, Amelia.”

“I see.”

“So, you went on your own accord? Be real with me.”

He watched as she glanced down. She sighed. “I don’t know.”

“You don’t know?” She shook her head. “So, you don’t know how you ended up at Trinity?” She shook her head once again. He was starting to feel frustration rising through him. He took a deep breath, to force it away. “So, let me get this straight. You go from saying I could say you went voluntarily, to saying that you don’t know how you get there. I need you to fill in some gaps here, Amelia.”

She continued to break eye contact. “It’s all very confusing.”

“What is all very confusing?”

“I don’t remember how I got there. I just remember what happened while I was there.” She stated, finally looking up, a smile appearing on her face.

He was taken aback by the smile, but he maintained his composure. “Okay, well tell me this. What happened while you were there?”

Her shoulders moved up and down as she shrugged. He was looking for any and all clues to see if she was lying or not. “They helped clear my head.”

“How did they do that?”

She stared at him, looking like she didn’t understand the question. He repeated it. She leaned back and sighed, crossing her arms over her chest, like a teenager who had just been grounded. “You’re really pushing here, Detective.”

He grinned. “What can I say? It’s my job.”

“Well if you must know.” She began. He told her that he did, giving her a grin of his own, wondering if it would make her uneasy. It didn’t seem to, as she continued. “I was given proper meals. Treated like a queen, honestly. They helped me by doing group therapy, as well as one on one therapy. I was given time to myself, where I could work out or just anything where I’d be practicing some sort of self-care.”

“Sounds like a spa or beach resort in the tropics.” He stated.

“It really is a home away from home. If your home is everything you ever dreamed about.” She replied. She seemed content now. He didn’t get any sort of hint that she was trying to convince him, which bothered him.

“Sounds like quite the place.”

“It truly is, Detective. You should try it out some time.”

He nodded. “Yeah, I’ll keep that in mind. So, what can you tell me about the guy who runs it? I’ve heard his name is David McIntosh.”

“That’s correct.”

“What can you tell me about him?”

“What do you mean?”

“Is he a good doctor? Or is he like a lot of the quacks running around, preaching good medicine and good mental health? You know the ones who you can just tell are in it to collect a check.”

She shook her head. “He is nothing like that. Not even in the slightest. He saved my life.”

“How did he do that?”

She grinned again. “He helped me open the doors to my mind, which allowed me to see myself for who I truly am. I would not have been able to do that if it wasn’t for him. Dr. McIntosh is the holiest of holies if you want my opinion.”

“I definitely do.” He said. He looked at her, studying her once again. “So, it sounds like he is some sort of Messiah. Is that something you’d classify him as?”

“I would and I am sure I’m not the only one.”

He nodded. “I see. Well, I’d like to go back to the fact that you said you don’t remember going to Trinity. You have no recollection of getting there. Do you remember meeting a man named Chris Lawrence?”

“Who?”

Her file rested in his lap. He placed it on the table, flipping through it before holding up a picture. “This is Chris Lawrence. He was the last person seen with you on the night of your so-called disappearance.”

She looked at the picture, like she was studying it just as he studied her. “He said his name was Donny. A guy I knew back in one of the group homes. He’s a liar.”

“So, you do remember him?” She nodded, looking down once again. “So, I’m going to tell you what I think, Amelia.” He sighed. “I believe McIntosh and Mr. Lawrence were working together and they kidnapped you, taking you back to Trinity.” She looked up and began to shake her head. He continued, however. “Now, either that place isn’t all sunshine and rainbows, or I’ve completely fucked up and got my facts wrong. Somewhere in this web of stories is a lie. I need to know the truth.

She continued to shake her head no. “You know, shaking your head tells me absolutely nothing. I need to know the truth, and I have no doubt in my mind that you know what the truth is. So, let’s stop playing games and have it. Tell me.” He said, as he leaned back in his chair, not taking his eyes off her.

She looked down, her finally coming to a halt. He called her name, as he continued to look at her, trying to get a read on her, trying to see if the girl from the photos was still there. When she finally looked at him, he felt a chill run and up down his spine. She glared daggers at him. They were aimed right at his heart. “I guess you fucked up and got your facts wrong.”

“I don’t believe you believe that, Amelia.”

“Its not up to me to tell you what to believe. All I know is that I’ve stayed here long enough. Can I go?”

He looked at her, still trying to get a read on her, trying to pick up on anything that could give her away. She wasn’t as easy as Chris, and Bram hated that. He sighed, knowing he didn’t win on that night, knowing he was going to have to James Evans what happened, to break the disappointing news.

“You’re free to go.”

__________________________________________

December 31st, 2019

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Centre Bell

James walked up the short driveway. The house was covered in white as snow slowly drifted from the sky above. Chills ran up, down, over, and through his body as he drew closer to the steps of the front porch.

The front door swung wide open as he took that first step. His mother stepped outside, in her Snoopy robe with bedroom slippers to match. She smiled at him as he reached the top step. “Good evening, sweetheart.”

They hugged. “Hey mom. How are you?”

“Better now that you’re here. Come on inside.” She motioned with her head for him to follow. The house welcomed him with warmth as he stepped inside, going through the living room. There was a Christmas tree still up, along with blinking lights. “This is a most unexpected surprise, honey. What brings you around?”

He took his eyes off the tree, looking at her as he smiled and shrugged. “I just wanted to see you. Is that a crime?”

“Not at all.” She said, shaking her head. “You know you’re always welcomed here. Any time. How was your Christmas?”

“It was good.” James stated, remembering the time spent with Braelynn as well as Kelly. “Your granddaughter had a blast. She got more than she probably needed, but she was satisfied, nonetheless. I made breakfast for her, her mother, as well as my wife. We opened gifts and cracked jokes. It was everything I could have possibly imagined for a Christmas morning.”

She nodded. “Seems like it was nothing short of memorable.”

“That’s what I wanted. I wanted to make it a Christmas that my Kelly wouldn’t forget. I want to make it a tradition to do breakfast and things like that. Especially for when the baby gets here.”

“How is your wife doing?”

“She’s doing as well as can be expected. First semester has really kicked her butt. She stays tired most of the time, but she still manages.”

“Good. I’m glad it’s going well.”

“I appreciate it.”

His mother stepped closer. “What’s bothering you?”

“What do you mean?”

She shrugged. “You just seem a little down. That’s all.”

“I wanted to see you. Have a little Christmas get together with you. Its been a long time since that happened. And based off a previous discussion, I wasn’t going to try and see my real mother. Being with you seemed a hell of a lot better.”

“Well, I will most certainly take that.” She said, before they took a seat at the kitchen table. “Would you like something to eat?”

“I could always eat.” He said with a grin.

She grinned as well. “You always had quite the appetite from what I remember. What would you like?”

He bunched up his face, as he thought. “How about breakfast like Grandma always made?”

She nodded before rising to her feet. “I believe I can manage that. Eggs, bacon, sausage. Biscuits and gravy.”

“Don’t forget the pancakes.” He said, as memories began to filter through.

“How could I do such a thing?” She asked, playfully.

“I made pancakes for everyone on Christmas. Just the way she always did when I was a kid.” He grinned. “I’ve always made them that way. I think they played a big part in my wife and I staying together.” He joked.

“They truly were a treat.” His mother stated as she began fumbling through the cabinets, pulling out bowls, pots, and pans, gathering all the tools needed. “Make us some coffee, how about it?”

James did as he was asked, finding himself standing beside his mother as she went to work on the food. He started the coffee pot. “Still like it really strong?”

“Wouldn’t have it any other way.” They stood, not saying a word as the coffee began to brew, and her hands were going to work as they made up the pancake batter. It was her that broke the silence. “Do you remember us doing this before?”

He grinned, as he nodded. “I do actually. The last memory I have of us doing this was when I was seven. We were in such a hurry. Dad had been on a binge for several days. He kept us up really late the night before, so we were both dragging, but you wanted to make Christmas meaningful, either way.” James looked over at her. She was still going to work but listening intently, so he continued. “You woke me up pretty early. You know me. I always enjoyed my sleep.” She laughed and shook her head. “You wanted my help, and despite not knowing the first thing about cooking, I got to work. I even learned a thing or two that day. We laughed and had a good time, despite having to be quiet as to not wake dad.” That part made him shake his head.

“We were always able to make the most out of a bad situation, weren’t we?” She asked, taking her eyes off the batter and locking them with his.

“We really were, mom.” He replied. “For a while, at least.”

“I know.” She exhaled, heavily. “Let’s make a good memory here, shall we?” He smiled, just as she did. He helped her finish the meal, before they sat at the kitchen table. They ate, and did what they always did, trading good memories of a time he did his best to hold onto.

“Thank you, mom.” He said.

She shook her head as she sipped her coffee. “No need to thank me.”

“That’s where I get that from.”

“Get what?”

“Telling people there’s no need to thank me.”

She shrugged. “Well, I got that from your grandfather, so you got it from him technically.”

“I miss him.”

“Me too.” She said, reaching out and taking his hand in hers. She felt real, as always. More so that time. “I see a lot of him in you. I always have. You’re a good man.”

“I try to be.” He said.

“I don’t think you have to try. I believe it comes a lot more natural than you think.” He didn’t say anything. He only nodded, and she continued. “Can I tell you something?”

“Of course.”

“I remember what we talked about a few weeks ago in terms of your real mother, and that is why I think you keep coming here.”

“What do you mean?” He asked.

She sat up straight in her chair, taking her hand from his. “I think, deep down, you want to see your mother. You want to know if she’s alright. That she’s safe.”

“You think so?” She nodded. “I don’t believe I’ve truly thought about it.”

“You have. You just choose to ignore it.” She said.

“You’re probably right.” He looked at her. “I’m just not sure I could handle it.”

“Never hurts to try.”

He nodded, before looking away and down. He stared at his hands, as the fingers were interlocked. His thumbs going around and around in circles, just as his grandfather did. He closed his eyes, breathing in the smells of the kitchen, enjoying the silence of the room, but before he knew it, the sounds were replaced with a thunderous rumbling. Like a crowd. The smells were replaced with the scent of sweat. His eyes opened just in time for James to see Owen Cruze charging at him.

Reacting, James lifted him up onto his shoulders, before planting him down on the mat with the Middle Finger to the Establishment. His eyes darted back and forth. He didn’t see Aries. He saw Sienna as well as Syren out on the floor as well as at the top of the ramp, before he hooked Owen’s leg. The ref counted. As he did so, James looked up and saw Abel towering over him, a smile on his face, which grew wider and matched James’ smile as well once the ref’s hand hit the mat for the third time. The bell rang. The match was over, and before James knew it, the SCW World Championship was being handed to him as the crowd’s reaction seemed to shake the entire arena.

James rose to his feet, hoisting the SCW World Championship up, trying to contain his smile but failing horribly. He and Abel celebrated in the ring as the fans continued to cheer, with confetti falling all around them, before they eventually made their way to the back.

They stood in his locker room, both staring at the title as James held it in his hands.

“You did it, James. You finally did it.” Abel stated, causing him to look up and lock eyes. Abel maintained a smile still, looking nothing less than absolutely proud.

James took another look at the title before shaking his head, locking eyes once more. “No, you did this. I had nothing to do with it.”

“I disagree. You got the winning fall. Tell me it didn’t feel good dropping Owen to the mat.”

He chuckled. “I can’t deny it, but you were the one who put in the work. You fought through the entire match until the very end. Why did you step out of the driver’s seat?”

Abel shrugged. “Because I felt like you earned the right to win the title. I’m going to carry it, but you deserved to win it.”

James sighed, taking another look at the title. “I can respect that.” He nodded. “Thank you.”

“No need to thank me.” Abel’s statement made him grin. “But this only the beginning. Sure, you don’t want a piece of the action?”

He shook his head. “I think I’m fine right now. I believe you can manage just fine on your own. But now that we have this, they are all going to come after you. You’re going to be the one with the target on his back. Sienna, Syren…so many others are going to trash talk you and insult you with everything they have. They are going to make challenges and demand matches against you.” Abel nodded. “I guess the bigger question is do you think you’re up for it?” Abel smirked, as he continued. “You better be. They are all going to want to see you fail. They will want to see James Evans fail.”

“I’m ready to go to war, James.” Abel replied. “I’ve made my intentions known, and I am not going to back away from that now. Carrying the title makes those intentions seem that much more important.”

“And you shouldn’t slow up. The belt means a lot. I don’t care what anyone says. Its more important than someone like Syren or Sienna. They may come off like they’re…” James sighed and shook his head. “Look at me. You give me the driver’s seat and I win the title…next thing I know…I’m getting swept up in the mess that comes with this business. I’m going to take a step back.”

“We don’t have to talk shop right now anyways, James. We just need to enjoy this.” Abel stated, tapping the title with his index finger. “Like you said, it’s the most important.”

Before anything else could be said, James’ phone began to ring. He walked over and saw it was a call from Braelynn. He answered, and she told him how proud she was. She went on and on, praising him, all the while, James felt like Abel deserved that praise and adulation. Not him. He told himself Braelynn didn’t know the difference. Because he never told her. They exchanged ‘I love yous’ before the call ended, and all James could do was sigh.

“You alright?” Abel asked.

“Yeah.”

“You look far more disappointed than excited for someone who just became Champion of the world.”

“Its not that. Its something else entirely.” James said, going to place his phone down when it flashed. “What’s this?” He found he had a voicemail. He checked it. It was from Detective Bram Theron. As he began to listen, he looked over at Abel. “I believe you’re going to want to hear this…”

__________________________________________

January 2nd, 2020

New York City, New York

Abel sat in a coffee shop known as Coffee Project NY in the East Village. A cup rested before him, but he didn’t touch it. His mind was elsewhere, as he waited on Bram Theron. He recalled the voicemail he and James had received from the detective.

“Hey James. Its Bram. I need you to call me back as soon as possible. I’ve got some news.”

He recalled how James ended the call and how they locked eyes. “I wonder what he means by that.” James said.

Abel exhaled. “I don’t know, but I can’t get over the feeling that it’s probably not good.”

“Why do you think that?”

“The tone of his voice. He seemed conflicted or frustrated.”

“Sort of like how you sound right now?”

Abel knew James was right. He was frustrated. He was probably beyond that. It all stemmed from the fact that Chris Lawrence had gone missing, after he was released on bail. “I have every right to sound like that. You would know if you stuck around a lot more.”

James, who was gathering his things in the locker room before preparing to take a shower, stopped what he was doing, as they locked eyes. “What does that mean exactly?”

Abel recalled his conversation with Dr. Williamson from a few weeks prior. How he told her that James wasn’t around or involved. How he wanted to spend more time with his family. “Exactly how it sounds. You’re not around. You want to be with your family more.”

“And who could blame me?” James fired back. “Are you saying that I’m not around for you?” Abel said nothing, as James continued. “That’s really why you switched out of the driver’s seat. You thought allowing me to win the title would bring us closer together. Is that it?” Once again, he said nothing. “You know what? The truth makes you selfish, Abel.”

“How am I selfish? You brought me around and stated you would be there for me!”

James looked down, sighing as he shook his head. “I know what I said. And I am here for you. I figured you needed to be on your own a little bit. Just as I do. I know you can stand on your own, Abel. And I’m tired of the bullshit with this sport. I’ve told you this, and I’ve meant it.”

“I’m not talking about this.” He said, pointing at the SCW Championship. “Theron deals with Trinity. That’s what I’m talking about. To me, that is more important than anything else.”

“What about Trinity? I thought you said they got that Lawrence guy, and that he was the key to bringing them down.”

Abel shook his head. “Well, I was fucking wrong. Chris got out on bail. And he went home, only to never be seen again.”

“I’m sorry.” James said, looking down once again. “I didn’t know. But maybe this is a sign.”

“A sign of what?”

“For you…for us…to just leave Trinity in the past.”

Abel shook his head once more. “You know I can’t do that.”

James sighed. “I’m sorry to hear that.”

“I just wish you could see what I see.”

“What do you see that I don’t?”

“Jesus Christ, James! It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure this shit out.”

“Enlighten me.”

“I shouldn’t have to. You know what they did to you. To me. They deserve to pay. I’ve said this before. I don’t know why I’m having to repeat myself.”

“Because I want you to fully understand just how insane you sound.” James said. “A place like Trinity…someone like McIntosh…they are not to be fucked with. That son of a bitch is dangerous in ways that you and I are not.”

“I can’t believe that you are that afraid, James.”

James shook his head, exhaling deeply. “I’m not afraid, Abel. I’m just being realistic and trying to talk some fucking sense into you. I say if this detective doesn’t have any good news…then you just leave it alone. Just walk away and try to have sort of a life for yourself. Just as I am doing.” Abel recalled going to speak, but James stepped away, getting into the shower.

The memory faded and he came to when the doorbell chimed as he looked up, finding himself locking eyes with Theron as the detective approached.

“I appreciate you meeting with me on such short notice.” Bram stated as he took a seat.

Abel nodded. “I appreciate your call. So, what’s up?”

The detective nodded as well. “There’s no reason to beat around the bush here. I’m not sure if there’s going to be a case against McIntosh and the Trinity Institute.”

Abel grinded his teeth together as he felt his fingers clenched into fists. He exhaled, trying to calm himself, but he could tell it wasn’t doing any good. “And why is that?”

Theron shrugged and shook his head. “You’re not going to believe this, but the other night…the night I left you the voicemail…Amelia showed up to the station.”

“Amelia Jenkins?”

The detective nodded once more. “Yes. She showed up, and we talked. She seemed calm, like nothing was out of the ordinary. It was the damnedest thing.”

“Out of the ordinary?” Abel questioned, trying to make sense of the information given.

“Yes.” Theron continued. “She didn’t seem distraught at all, despite having some knowledge that her case was a missing persons case.”

“I feel like there’s something you’re not telling me. I’d rather you just go ahead and say it.”

“I understand.” Theron exhaled heavily, looking defeated suddenly. “Here it is, James. Amelia…she killed the case.”

“How so?”

He lowered his faze, letting out another deep breath, the look of defeat growing like the defeated feeling Abel began to experience. “Everything you told me, off the record…” Theron paused before looking back up. “She called bullshit on.”

Abel shrugged. “So what? Doesn’t mean it’s not true.”

“What she said was on the record, James.”

“So, you need to get me onto record? That’s what you’re saying.”

“They’d be wondering how I knew about you. What your involvement was. We did everything off the books. It could get me into some seriously deep shit. It could cost me my career.”

“I’m not worried about your career.” Abel hissed. “McIntosh…” He grinded his teeth once more. The very mention of the man’s name was cause enough for his blood to boil. “That motherfucker needs to burn for what he did, not only to me but to countless others.” The words escaped as he locked eyes with Theron. Abel shook his head, exhaling deeply as well. “There has to be something we can do.”

“I told my superiors that something felt off about her story.”

“And what did they say?”

“I was told they needed much more than a hunch. That I needed actual evidence.”

“What can I do to help you get that?”

Theron shook his head. “I need you to lay low. Stay out of this. For now, at least.”

“You can’t be serious.”

“I am serious.” The detective stated as he rose to feet. “I’m going to see what I can do. Just trust me. Okay?”

“McIntosh deserves to pay. Trinity deserves to burn. So far nothing of the sort seems to be happening. So, excuse me if I decide to put my faith and trust elsewhere.”

“If everything you told me was true…Then, you’ll get what you want. You’ll get justice.”

“I guess we’ll see. Won’t we?” Abel locked eyes with Theron one last time. He went to speak but turned away instead, leaving the coffee shop.

Abel replayed the conversation in his head, the end result pissing him off, increasing his frustration. He got up and left, ignoring the thought to go to Williamson’s office to tell her that her boy Theron wasn’t worth a damn.

“We can take care of this.” He heard a voice say suddenly, as he made his way through the New York streets. It was Charles, walking alongside him. “It looks like you’re getting nowhere with what you want. With what you deserve.”

“It looks like I will have to take matters into my own hands. I don’t know what I can, or what I will, do but I’m going to have to do something. Theron…he’s proving to be incompetent.”

Charles chuckled. “He’s too worried about going by the fucking book, instead of doing the right thing.”

“Doing the right thing can also be the most difficult.”

“A choice needs to be made, nonetheless. You’re able to do that.”

Abel stepped into an alley before stopping and facing Charles. “I’m surprised by your words.”

“Why’s that?” The asshole asked, chuckling once again.

“When James and I were in Trinity, you showed up in his head. You taunted him. James pulled a gun on you, and you continued to taunt him. Why do you care what happens with Trinity?”

Abel watched as Charles lit up a cigarette and took a drag. He blew smoke as he replied. “Still don’t fully trust me, do you?”

“You’re getting there. Its like taking one step forward before taking two steps back with you. But then again, that’s always been your M.O.”

“You are meant for war, Abel. None of it is pretty. I’ve told you this. I’m here to guide you, because I’m the only one who can. James can’t fucking do it. If you want results, then continue to walk the path I’m laying out for you. If you don’t then let’s go ahead and cut this shit short.” He took another drag, as Abel stood there, hands in his coat pockets. “I figured as much. You’ll need to cut this back and forth shit, kid if you’re going to truly live up to your word, to your declaration for war. Otherwise, you’ll get lost in your own hype, and become nothing more than a fume.”

Abel went to speak but he heard another voice. This time from behind him. “Who are you talking to?” Abel turned to find James standing before him. “How did we end up here?” He asked, before looking around, taking in their surroundings.

“I had a meeting with Theron.”

James shook his head. “Of course, you did.” James walked by him. “So, how did that go if you don’t mind me asking?”

“Oh, like you care.” Abel fired back.

“I’m trying to be here for you, Abel. Just as you wanted.”

Abel shook his head. “It didn’t go well. Theron told me it seemed like the case was dead in the water.”

“Why is that?”

“Amelia showed up and acted like nothing was wrong.” Abel stated, the very thought causing an angry sickness to rise within the pit of his stomach. “He told me that she said the exact opposite of what I told him about McIntosh and Trinity. Like what I said didn’t happen. Like it didn’t matter.”

“Well, we both know it did happen. There’s no denying that.”

“Then fucking help me, James!” Abel pleaded, hating himself for doing so.

James shook his head. “I told you the other night that I’m not getting involved. That is best to just walk away. Do that, Abel. Just. Walk. Away.” He commanded.

Abel sighed and shook his head. “Fine.” He said, before turning from James, heading toward the end of the alley, going in the opposite direction.

“Where are you going?” He heard James call out to him.

He responded, without looking back. “I’m walking away. Just like you said.”

James stood there, unable to find the words to say. All he could do was watch. That was what he did, blinking. Each time he did so, the distance between he and Abel increased, until Abel was no longer visible.

__________________________________________

Two Hours Later

New York City, New York

The house was empty, except for Braelynn as she stood in the kitchen. She rubbed her belly, reminding herself that she needed to keep calm. Always. Not just sometimes. But always. If not for herself, for the baby above all else.

In times like this, she remembered how she could call Kendra. She was typically always the voice of reason, in some way, shape, or form at least. Her ties with Kendra were practically nonexistent, however. She told herself that she could call Katelyn, as they had become great friends, developing a bond over their love for Kelly, and even their connection regarding James.

She remembered being able to call James in the beginning, especially when she was upset. She and Kendra fought a lot, away the glitz and glamor of the LFL as well as modeling. It was typically over James, so she’d call him to talk things out. Now, the issue was James, and Braelynn couldn’t help but feel like she didn’t really have anyone to turn to when it came to him.

She wanted a drink, but knew that was a definite no.  Standing there alone, she cursed herself for even getting mad in the first place, but she felt she had every right.

James came home, and they hugged. They talked about her day, with him asking how she felt. Her answer was becoming the same old song and dance. She felt great at times, but sick and weak, with no energy most of the time. And she was always hungry.

He cooked dinner for the two of them, after she said she had really been craving chicken Alfredo. James knew a recipe to make the sauce from scratch. They sat beside one another on the couch as they ate. “So how does it feel?” She asked.

“How does what feel?” He replied, taking a bite of food.

“Being World Champion? Duh!” She said, recalling how she gave him a playful nudge.

He shrugged. “It doesn’t feel any different. I know that I don’t.” He said. She could tell he was being distant. She couldn’t place the reason why.

“Well, you should definitely be proud of yourself, James. I’m being serious, babe. You’ve more than earned it. And after all that shit those two bitches have put you through…” She said, shaking her head. “I know that I’d feel on top of the fucking world if I outlasted them and won something so huge.”

“Would you like to take my place? You could be World Champ.” He said, giving her a snicker, putting her at a slight ease.

She grinned. “You know I can’t do that. I mean, look at me.” She said, glancing down at her stomach, before taking a few bites of dinner. “I’m as big as the world.”

“Not at all.”

She chuckled but felt like he would always see her as the most beautiful woman in the world. That when he had told her many times in the past, he meant it. “Well, give it a little bit longer and I will be.”

“Are you saying you’re going to be fat?”

“Well, yeah.” She laughed. “I’m pregnant. I have no doubt I’m going to be the size of a blimp.”

“I don’t know how I feel about that.” He said. “Let’s go ahead and take this from you.” He stated, before slowly reaching toward her plate.

“James Henry Evans.” She began, glaring at him as she spoke. “I love you but if you try to starve me and this child, I will stab the fuck out of you with my fork.”

“Shit. You’re vicious. You know you’d go to prison for that.” He cheerfully warned.

She shook her head before taking another bite. “They would forgive me, babe.”

“Oh, is that right?”

She nodded. “I’d be able to blame it on pregnancy brain.”

“Going to milk it for all its worth, right?”

“Oh, absolutely. Can you blame me?”

He shrugged his shoulders and shook his head. “No, I can’t say that I do. I know I would.” He turned his body, completely facing her. “How about this?” He started, taking her hand in his. “And I’m being serious.”

“Okay?”

He spoke, with a straight face. “Next time, you can knock me up. Deal?” He laughed as soon as the words left his mouth. She could tell he struggled to keep a straight face. She laughed with him. Being able to joke with him made her feel things she couldn’t describe, as it was something she had never been able to truly share with someone else. Sure, she’d laugh with others, but it didn’t feel as real. Most of the time it felt forced. But not with James.

They finished their meal and James gathered the dishes before beginning to wash them. She wanted to ignore the thought of him being distant, but it got to the point that she couldn’t. She met him in the kitchen, as he worked on straightening things up. “Is everything alright?”

He glanced at her over his shoulder as he placed plates in one of the cabinets. “Yeah why?”

“I don’t know.” She said, as she stepped closer. “You just seem like something is off. I could tell it when you got home. Did something happen?”

“No. I’m good.”

“And you even seem a little unhappy or nowhere near satisfied with the fact that you’re World Champion.”

He stopped what he was doing, just glancing down, letting out a sigh. He did that when something was bothering him, but he didn’t want to talk about it. It was something she had learned very quickly when it came to her relationship with James.

“I’m sorry. I’m not trying to annoy you.” She added.

It took a few moments, but he finally turned and faced her. The laughter was gone. The look in his eyes told her the whole story. He was bothered, and he wanted to tell her. He just didn’t know how. She tried to tell herself not to think the worst.

“Whatever it is…you can tell me…” 

“I know I can.” He said.

“Then tell me.”

“There’s nothing to tell.”

“I can tell that there is, James. Just be honest with me.” She found herself pleading, something she didn’t like to do. It reminded of her the arguments with Abel when her husband left him in the driver’s seat as they called it.

James sighed and nodded, like he was coming to terms with what he needed to do, before he faced her. “I got into an argument with Abel.”

“Okay.” She nodded, taking another step closer. “What about?”

“He’s trying to take down McIntosh and all of Trinity. It’s not working out for him, and he can’t understand why I’m not helping.” Her husband added.

She felt confused, placing herself in Abel’s shoes, which was something she never felt she would have done. “And why aren’t you helping him? I’m not trying to attack you. I’m just curious, because I figured you would want to do the same…Especially after what you went through with that son of a bitch.”

“I’ll tell you just as I told him. It’s a lost cause. McIntosh is more than a son of a bitch. He’s dangerous. Far more than I think anyone realizes.”

“Then he needs to be behind bars.”

James shook his head. She could tell he was rattled by the entire situation. “I agree, but its not a fight I need to take. Abel needs to walk away as well.”

“Why?”

“I’m sort of surprised by the fact that it seems like you’re taking his side.”

She shook her head. “I’m not on anyone’s side. I’m just trying to understand. That’s all.”

He sighed. “There’s nothing to understand. I know what I went through in that place. It was worse than any hell ever imaginable. That may be corny, but it’s the only way I can describe it. And it was all because of McIntosh. I don’t want to step back into that fire. I don’t him to make my life any worse than he already has. I don’t want any harm to come to you, our child, or even Kelly. That’s why I’ve told him to walk away.”

She stepped closer, resting her head on his chest. She could feel his heart. It seemed like it wanted to burst out of his chest. He was upset and she had been the cause.

“I’m sorry I’ve upset you, babe. It wasn’t my intention.”

“It is what it is.”

“No.” She said, lifting her head up, and looking him in the eye. “Its not okay. I was at fault.”

“You don’t need to apologize. Shit.” He said, shaking his head.

“What?”

“I guess I can go ahead and tell you that it wasn’t me who won the World title. It was all Abel. All he did was let him get the winning fall. That’s why I don’t really feel any real excitement about it. I did at first, but only at first. He did all the work. I had nothing to do with it.”

Confusion began to run through her. “What do you mean he won it?”

“I’m letting him go and wrestle. When I’m with you, or Kelly…it’s all me. Abel has no part of that. I told him I didn’t want to keep wrestling, but I knew he enjoyed it. I told him all I wanted was to be able to spend time with my family.” She felt tears welling up in her eyes. “What?” He asked, looking at her as if he had no idea why she’d be upset.

“We are partners, right?” She asked, trying to keep it together but being pregnant made it difficult.

“Yes. Of course.”

“How long has the thing with you and Abel been going on?”

He sighed. “For a few months. I told him that I accepted him, that I wasn’t going to continue trying to get rid of him, and now he can go do his own thing. Wrestling gives him the chance to do so. I don’t understand why you’re upset.”

“I just wish you’d tell me things. Or at least talk to me about this kind of stuff. The decisions you make with Abel affect me. Maybe not as much as they do, but I’m still a big part of your life. Like how the fuck am I supposed to know who I’m talking to or spending time with?”

“You’re with me, babe. Abel isn’t here.”

“He’s always here in some way, shape, or form. He’s part of your life. Just as I’m supposed to be part of your life.”

“You are.”

She shook her head again. “I don’t feel that way right now. In fact, I feel like I mean jack shit. Like you have this double life you hide from me.”

“I do hide things from you when it comes to Abel. I do hide them! I know I do! I do it because I still can’t seem to understand exactly what’s wrong with me!” He shouted, before turning away. She knew he was just as upset as she was. That he was beating himself up. She took a step closer but stopped when he slammed his fist down on the counter. He looked at her before heading toward the front door. She wanted to follow, to stop him, but she didn’t have it in her at the time.

She was upset, and he had been the cause.

The house was empty. She rubbed her belly, telling their child she was sorry. That she’d made things right. That everything would be fine. That its father was nothing less than a good man. She told herself that even though she was mad at him, she needed to remember that last bit as well.

 

Leave a comment